One of the best things about Running Club North is that we have extremely active and dedicated volunteers that make all our events happen in an incredibly supportive environment. We try to recognize everyone’s efforts as much as we can, but for those who are particularly dedicated we give three awards, presented at our annual meeting each year in October. The lists below include our past winners.

We sincerely appreciate every winner’s contribution to the success of RCN!

Have someone you’d like to nominate? Please use the Award Nominations page to do that. We usually actively solicit nominations in the early fall, at the end of the summer running season. But feel free to nominate the perfect person any time.


Most Inspirational Runner of the Year

2019Pete Hjellen
2018Ed and Jackie Debevec
2017Owen Merrill
2016Bad Bob Baker
2015Janette Hanneman
2014Davya Flaharty
2013Andy Sterns
2012George Rimiller Jr.
2011Bobbi Jo Katchmar
2010Dorli McWayne
2009Jane Lanford
2008Jim Decur
2007Kristen Bartecchi Rozell
2006Barbara Wuttig
2005Pat Kalen
2004Janna Miller
2003Tim Doran
2002Jim Madonna
2001Ronnie Smith
2000Andy Sterns
1999Glenn Hackney

Volunteer of the Year

2019Tamara Hall
2018Rhonda Gilbertson
2017Ron Oliver and Team RWB
2016Bobbi Jo Katchmar
2015Andrea Swingley
2014Roger & Tamara Sayre
2013George Berry
2012Ed Debevec
2011Dee Daniels & Karen Harris
2010Gary Pohl
2009Bev Weis
2008Chad Carroll
2007Sharon & Bad Bob Baker
2006Monte Jordan
2005Keith Pollock
2004Stan Justice
2003Tracey Martinson
2002Corky Hebard
2001Kat Betters & Bruce Miller
2000Bob Hildebrandt
1999Jo Ellen Cowee

Race Director of the Year

2019Oralee Nudson & Robbin Garber-SlaughtEster Dome Ass Kicker
2018George BerryFar too many to list!
2017Stacy FiskEquinox Marathon, Goldstream To Hoodoo Half Marathon
2016Don KielyAlaska Endurance Trail Run
2015Chris GreeneGranite Tors Trail Run
2014Amber Barlow & Tyson Flaharty Alaska Interior Triathlon Series
2013Keith Pollock Run & Soak
2012John Estle & Susan Kramer Equinox Marathon, Relay, and Ultra
2011Jane Lanford Murphy Dome Roam/Run of the Mine
2010Drew Harrington Northern Trails Series races
2009Dawniel Dupee Alaska Statehood 5K
2008Matias Saari Northern Trails Running Series
2007Wayde Leder and Rob Solomon Two-Way Torture Test
2006Fairbanks Symphony Association board - Dorli McWayne, Steve Bainbridge Beat Beethoven
2005Bob Perkins It Ain't Easy Hill Run
2004Jim Brader Golden Mile
2003Bill Young Santa Claus ½ Marathon
2002Gary Pohl, Mike Kramer, Steve Bainbridge Gold Discovery Run
2001Trent Fieldson Manchu Run
2000Paulette Goodwin Santa Claus Half Marathon
1999Steve Bainbridge Equinox Marathon

In addition to these usual three awards, in 2015 RCN gave a special award for Outstanding Contributions to Running in Interior Alaska. This award recognizes Paul and Nancy Kelley for race-directing the Tok Trot for 35 consecutive years. There are races that have been around longer, but it’s unlikely that any have had the same race director for such a long tenure. Paul and Nancy put on the Tok Trot 10K in April each year, on a course “flat as your wallet at tax time.” Walkers start an hour ahead of the runners, and a good portion of the townspeople of Tok participate, plus contingents from Fairbanks and other communities. And afterward, the Kelleys host a huge feast at their house for everyone. And it’s all free to participants.